In Budget Roundups, Money

September 2018: Income & Expenses Budget Roundup

THE INCOME = $24,625.04

Day Job: $23,270.94

Day job .. is my day job. It’s what I earn each month, working 40 hours a week. Nothing to see here. Boring.

Anyway.

Blog: $1354.10

Advertising: $550.31

Affiliate: $472.17

Products: $331.62

Save. Spend. Splurge. Products sold, include:

https://www.savespendsplurge.com/products

INCOME GOALS FOR THE NEXT MONTH

Trying to promote items without feeling like a hack

I did a little better this month promoting myself and my products but I still feel like a hack doing it. Hence why you don’t hear much about any of it except in these posts and once in a while.

Still, at least my efforts paid off in a few extra sales. WHEE!!!

Selling items off from the closet – TBD

I have three full bins to get rid of. I have yet to post all of this on eBay. UGH.

I know I should, but frankly it would be easier sometimes just to offload it to someone in a big truckload, and have them pay me whatever comes out of it.

I wish we had something like Poshmark here in Canada, all the other consignment sites are for higher end designer stuff, but Poshmark would be perfect to just offload things and ship them easily to customers.

Ugh. Work TBD.. I need to get on this, maybe next year…


THE EXPENSES = $6347.60

So as you can see, personal taxes ate a chunk of my expenses (you don’t see my business side, but I also paid a lot of money there, in the tens of thousands this month in pre-payment).

These are my 5 areas of spending. That designer bag splurge? OMG. Still, very happy.

For my expenses, I was transitioning back to work and decided on a few things:

1. Going to fix my shoulders and back with sports therapy

I have had bad posture and a slight hunch back for about 10 years and it is progressively getting worse. I feel the knot in my right shoulder getting bigger and the other day I woke from sleeping on my back (supposedly the best position) and had a huge backache.

I started seeing a sports therapist and have paid for quite a lot of sessions at around $115 a pop with tip included. They have finally broken the knots in some of my muscles but there is still work to be done, I can feel it.

That said, the difference in my sleep is immense. I now sleep on my back and wake up without an ache because it is like my muscles were tensed while sleeping and not relaxed (too much lactic acid built up and knots), and once they relaxed them, my entire upper half COULD relax when on my back.

I’m unable to do yoga with my work schedule these days so it is massages instead and stretching at home.

2. Thinking a lot about core clothing pieces

I recently made a few basic clothing pieces this month that I have not posted about because I have not received them (they are in transit).

I bought them secondhand and designer, and they have been pieces I have wanted to reach for in my wardrobe but did not have.

Yet I held off because they seemed impractical (white widelegged pants? C’mon!)

I finally but the bullet and bought them. Yay!

3. Splurged on a secondhand designer bag

Secondhand designer bags are the best. Fraction of the price and you get to love them as much or more.

I picked up a bag for a steal (has yet to be shipped and then reshipped to me).

I had been wanting this bag for a long time but could not fathom paying thousands for it. When I saw it for sale secondhand, I jumped on it.

It is more than I wanted to spend ($500 is normally my limit) but it wasn’t thousands which is a real find.

Teaser post, this is because I’ll reveal it when it is here in my hot grubby paws.

4. Now that I have a nice car…

I’m paying to have it professionally cleaned once or twice a year. Before winter and after winter.

A friend of mine scored me a deal so it’ll be $350 per session — full day interior and exterior cleaning and whatever else.

This is a splurge for me because I was booking off my Saturdays to go and spend time to vacuum and clean everything in my car. I estimated at least two weekend days for this, and then I though: but would I do as good as a job? Also, those are MY Mommy Days off, do I want to spend it cleaning for 5 hours a day!?!?

I decided $350 in trade for 10-ish hours so I can do it while I’m at work and get my free time off was worth it.

How did you do?

Share Tweet Pin It +1

Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

Millionaire at 36 after getting out of $60K of student debt in 18 months, a little over a decade earlier, using TheBudgetingTool.com. Since then, I have paid my $600K home in cash (my half was $300K), my $180K casr in cash, worked 50% of my career (taking 1-2 year breaks), and quadrupled my income within 2 years of graduating, going from $65K to $260K with an average lifetime savings rate of 50%. I could retire today if I wanted, but love my work-life balance as a freelancing consultant in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math). I am all about balance - between time and money, and also enjoying my money. I also post daily on Instagram @saverspender.

You may also like

Previous PostStyle Trio: Inspirations of #OOTD style I love - Part One
Next PostSeptember 2018: The Net Worth and Investments

2 Comments

  1. Natasha

    Hey!
    Just wondering what sites in Canada you go to for secondhand designer goods?
    Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

      I use Poshmark and ship to my friends who reship but you can try The Real Real and Vestiaire Collective, and eBay.

      Reply

Leave a Reply