In Budget Roundups, Money

October 2019: Income & Expenses Budget Roundup

THE INCOME = $19,158.33

Day Job: $16,740.36

Day job .. is my day job. It’s what I earn each month, working 40 hours a week.

I actually started near the middle of the month, so this isn’t my full income going forward, monthly.

Overtime is forbidden on this contract but I am strict about the 40 hours or less. I won’t do more.

I used to go above and beyond but there was zero appreciation, so f&*@! that.

I usually also have flexible working start and end times as well as a day or two remote at home, if not the whole week.

I can leave and come any time I want for this job.

Blog: $2417.97 – WHAT? HOW!?

I don’t even know how this happened. My normal average is $1200 these days, and for it to DOUBLE, is mind boggling.

Advertising: $1143.14

Affiliate: $1152.47

Products: $122.36

But seriously – my advertising and affiliate earnings shot up, especially my affiliate earnings.

I will note that my affiliate earnings are inflated by about $400 because it was a payout LONG OVERDUE from 2 years of not having checked that account.


I know some of it comes from the extra push / work I have been doing on the social media side that is finally paying off, particularly on Instagram @saverspender , and the ONLY thing I pay for, $15 a month, is Tailwind Plus – a social media manager.

This service has saved my life for social media management. Without it, I couldn’t do my day job, my personal life, my blogging life AND social media life / postings.

If you use my referral link, you can try out one month of Tailwind Plus for free.

Save. Spend. Splurge. Products sold, include:

https://www.savespendsplurge.com/products

INCOME GOALS FOR THE NEXT MONTH

Keep working, keep making money, and …. follow this:

If you are interested, my money is parked here:

  • EQ Bank: Good, general 2.3% high interest savings account; subject to change
  • Tangerine: Use my Orange key { 32726976S1 } for free money ($50 once you deposit $100; and I get $50 too)

…credit card extra rewards cashback savings here:

  • PayTM Canada and PayTM USA is also how I pay my municipal taxes, utility bills and so on with my debit account which I would do anyway, but through PayTM it lets me earn PayTM points for Amazon, Starbucks gift cards etc… Use my referral code [ PTM210713 ] for a free bonus 5000 points ($5 gift card)

…and invested here:

…and I list my things for sale here:

THE EXPENSES = $2884.95

For the most part, I have been very good at keeping my expenses down.

Yes, this month was exceptional – I added a $500 Contract Bonus for myself to spend (didn’t even spend it all, had some money left over), and I always give myself a restricted $225/month fun budget for stuff that is REALLY NOT NECESSARY (clothes, eating out, etc).

Stuff I deem useful / necessary, like books for Little Bun, gifts for others, vitamins, even a bougie hair brush (I don’t own one) are thins that I don’t include in this budget.

Even so, my comfortable budget is about $3000 a month these days to cover everything. I have also been good at reselling stuff from my closet as you can see above it brought in about $500 extra this month which nicely covered my Contract Bonus amount.

I sort of like this equilibrium of spending on a stricter budget and sticking to $3000 while maximizing my income at the same time. It seems to be working out for me and I have never been happier. (I normally hate rules and spending prisons.)

If you’re interested, I use the following credit cards:

  • Rakuten – I use this site ALL THE TIME when I shop online, and thus far have racked up $750 in cashback in 3 months. Use referral link here [ https://www.rakuten.ca/referrer?referrerid=RUKLesGAZDc%3D ] for a free $10 to get started.
  • PayTM Canada and PayTM USA is also how I pay my municipal taxes, utility bills and so on with my debit account which I would do anyway, but through PayTM it lets me earn PayTM points for Amazon, Starbucks gift cards etc… Use my referral code [ PTM210713 ] for a free bonus 5000 points ($5 gift card)
  • Rogers World Elite Mastercard – No annual fee, 1.75% cash back, but you can only redeem it yearly and you have to call each year to ask them to redeem the credit against your next year’s statement. I use it for all my purchases as I buy a lot in USD$, and those purchases are 4% cash back (almost like a no forex fee in essence)
  • Tangerine Mastercard – No annual fee, 2% back on certain categories (up to 3). For their savings accounts, use my Orange key { 32726976S1 } for free money ($50 once you deposit $100; and I get $50 too). I give this card to my partner (he has a joint card) and he uses it constantly
  • I used to have the MBNA World Elite Mastercard but they increased the annual fee. That was disappointing, they used to give 2% back on everything.

My Top 5 Expenses from the month

All pretty good. I’d still like Household to drop though. WTF HOUSEHOLD.

Where my Fun Money Went

My fun budget this month was $225.

I SQUEAKED IN with $0.01 to SPARE. *phew*

This is where it went:

  • Eating Out: $86.49
  • Massage: $95 – for my back, I consider this a ‘treat’ but maybe it should be Medical, as my right shoulder is still in pain
  • Clothing: $43.51 – Thrifting is <3

TOTAL: $224.99

Seriously. ONE PENNY. *pats self on back*

One of my favourite thrifted pieces was this $5 cost but super high-quality wool/cashmere blend dress from some random independent label.

The quality is impeccable, and I realized that someone ruined the hem of the skirt by just cutting it across rather than having it hemmed properly.

So, I just evened out the cut at home, and this dress is <3…. LOVE THE POCKETS!

Extra $500 Contract Bonus to Myself!

Also, I should note I gave myself $500 on the side to spend on whatever I wanted as a contract HURRAH! spending “spree”.

I chose gold Poppy Barley flats. Review here for $270.25 and two labradorite necklaces and a ring from a brand called David Claire for $218.48

This is the first necklace (second one not yet pictured in an outfit yet but is a teardrop white labradorite with rainbow reflections.)

And this is the ring – the middle finger with the 5 stones? SO brutalist, I love it.

It also enabled Adina of Blue Collar Red Lipstick to go to her own local Winners and try to find pieces by David Claire. 😉 I am a great enabler. #SorryNotSorry

All in all, I spent $488.73 with only $11.27 left to spare.

Monthly Expenses

(This is a new addition, do you like it? Let me know!)

Favourite: $38.55

Buying this book – Fractions and Decimals for Little Bun. He is obsessed with it. We now have to read it almost nightly while he eats his vegetable stew.


He also wanted another See Inside Maths book, so I got that for him as well.

But if you want all 3 of their great math books, the last one of this trio of math books is his beloved Times Tables book:

You can buy the entire trio here which will likely be cheaper than $20 per individual book.

Unexpected: $143.45

All these vitamins. These are the 3 brands recommended by Dr. Mark Hyman, and these are the supplements he suggests:

Thorne Research

Pure Encapsulations:

Metagenics:

Hated: $7.50

I HATE paying for parking. LOATHE. I will walk 10 blocks to avoid paying $7.50 but this was a doctor’s appointment.

Joyful: $42.04

I wanted to send a few gifts this month, and I did. My friend’s daughter has a nut allergy, so I bought some nut-free butters and mailed them to her as a gift.

Expensive: $270.25

I bought some pointed loafers – I have been trying to find them used for such a long time, but I am incredibly picky.

I didn’t want something uncomfortable, and I wanted it all leather not synthetic especially for closed footwear, where you end up sweating buckets through your toes during the day.

So, I ended up with gold Poppy Barley flats. Review here. I returned everything else.

Cheapest: $2.86

I bought a drink to try it out because it had “sorel” in the name, but I didn’t really taste the herb.

It was a bad purchase, too sugary as well. I normally don’t drink pop, so this was unusual as a purchase.

Share Tweet Pin It +1

Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

Am my own Sugar Daddy. Am a millionaire at 36 after getting out of $60K of student debt in 18 months, a little over a decade earlier, using TheBudgetingTool.com. I have worked 50% of my career (taking 1-2 year breaks), and quadrupled my income within 2 years of graduating, going from $65K to $260K with an average lifetime savings rate of 50%. I have 11 side incomes that are on track in 2020 to make me $50K - $75K. I could retire today if I wanted, but love my work-life balance as a freelancing consultant in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math). I am all about balance - between time and money, and also enjoying my money. I also post daily on Instagram @saverspender.

You may also like

Week of Money: SNAFU

Posted on December 19, 2019

Previous PostWhy and how we don't celebrate any holiday with gifts or go all out for Christmas with Little Bun
Next PostOctober 2019: The Net Worth and Investments

2 Comments

  1. Amy

    I am so impressed at how you keep your expenses down. I have at least $3000 flying right out the door as soon as I am paid, just on household/utilities/insurance. Not to mention the taxes taken out before I even see my paycheque.

    While my retirement funds are well established, I am working on building up and investing my personal funds (TFSA). Every dollar counts!

    Reply
    1. Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

      My expenses remember, are just my half of the household as well. My partner pays half of his share of the household, and has his own savings 🙂

      The TFSA is so underrated I think, it is an amazing resource.

      Reply

Leave a Reply