In Budget Roundups, Money

February 2020: Expenses Budget Roundup

 

THE EXPENSES = $3999.24

Hey hey look at that! Just under $4000

It isn’t my projected $3000 but I’ll take it considering a good chunk of that was my municipal tax bill (just the first half, I have another half to pay in a month or so). As long as at the end of the year, it all evens out to $40,000 or under, I’m fine with these numbers.

My savings rate this month was 87% or $25,903.60

My day job went 100% into savings because my side income covered my living expenses, more or less.

My original 2020 goal was a 90% savings rate but I am going to DECREASE that down to a more manageable 85%.

Still a challenge, but I won’t be upset if I don’t make the goal at the end of the year. 90% was very aggressive, not to mention a little prison-like, if I am to be honest.

If I get CLOSE to 90% or beat 85% I will be happy, but I feel as though 85% is more realistic for me.

I am most excited about my day job pay going 100% into savings / investments. That is way more exciting to me if I can match my expenses to my side income. <3

Summary:

In Detail:

Home/Utilities/Home Insurance never changes

These generally don’t ever change. I mean they don’t go crazy. I just pay a bit more every month or so because of tax bills (I have municipal and school), but overall, it evens out to about $500/month for my home itself.

Utilities, insurance, and so on are on top of that.

Groceries / Eating Out

I did VERY well on the eating out front. I didn’t spend more than $150 because I was conscious about my spending the month before, but also because I purchased two vintage pieces of jewellery so…. I knew I’d be over, and I subconsciously cut back in this area.

A friend also dropped by in Montreal with her mother on the way to Morocco, so I took them out to eat and hosted them, so that was 1/3 of what I spent as well. 🙂

Household / Children

For household – this is soap, toilet paper, etc.

Little Bun has been so cute and sweet this month – I have been purchasing word apps, and other fun apps for English and Math. He blew through them in days, so I won’t recommend them but at least he had fun.

Starbucks

I kept it down to $30 this month. I am sitting more in the cafe just to be out. I just like feeling the energy of people, but not necessarily to interact with them at all.

Grooming/Spa/Yoga

Pure yoga this month. I bought a mat but then I returned it because realized that I wouldn’t use it. Buying that mat, was for someone who would ideally, do yoga at home as well as in a class, and I am not that Ideal Sherry who can do that. I REALLY need a class to get me moving and going, and if I am at home, I feel zero motivation to do yoga and to continue for an hour or more.

I bought another 10-class pass, and I go 3X a week. I only missed one day because the weather was so terrible, and I had to stay for an appointment that would have cut it too close had I gone to yoga.

I also am feeling myself get stronger, and build muscle. I can now feel that when I lower myself down slowly, my abs are strong enough to go slowly and not flop at the end. Baby steps.

Medical / Dentist

More medical expenses this month, as my physiotherapy was required for my back and I had to go twice. It was just so painful I knew I had to do it.

Wardrobe / Toiletries / Makeup

I couldn’t help myself. Picked up a beautiful vintage necklace and another ring. It came out of my pocket rather than via a credit I had, so this is why it is showing up as expenses.

I also found my contact lens solution on sale so I bought a stock for the next year and a half.

My Top 5 Expenses

Home = $1515.41

Municipal taxes hit this month. I have another tax bill coming up in a bit.

Groceries = $1032.73

I did cook more this month than before, so this is reflected.

Jewellery = $351.67

A lot of my style and shopping has been $0 out of my pocket because I have credits I am using up, but on another site, I saw these amazing pieces – a vintage necklace and a ring. I wanted to buy WAY MORE, but I kept it together and only picked two incredible pieces.

Little Bun = $285.64

Daycare and apps for math and English he asked for…

Toiletries = $194.53

Stocked up on contact lens solution. Nothing special here.

NOTES

If you’re interested, I use the following:

  • Rakuten – Use my referral link – https://www.rakuten.ca/r/starfishsherry?src=Link – for $5
  • Swagbucks: Use my referral link to get 300 Swagbucks but only once you earn another 300 Swagbucks doing surveys etc within the first month. You need only 750 swagbucks to redeem it for $10 from Paypal. I made about $60 a month on average clicking on surveys while on conference calls, etc.
  • Rogers World Elite Mastercard – No annual fee, 1.75% cash back, but you can only redeem it yearly and you have to call each year to ask them to redeem the credit against your next year’s statement. I use it for all my purchases as I buy a lot in USD$, and those purchases are 4% cash back (almost like a no forex fee in essence)
  • Tangerine Mastercard – No annual fee, 2% back on certain categories (up to 3). For their savings accounts, use my Orange key { 32726976S1 } for free money ($50 once you deposit $100; and I get $50 too). I give this card to my partner (he has a joint card) and he uses it constantly
  • I used to have the MBNA World Elite Mastercard but they increased the annual fee. That was disappointing, they used to give 2% back on everything.

Where my Fun Money Went

Listen, this wasn’t even a consideration. I completely ignored this Fun Money budget when I saw two vintage pieces online for jewellery, otherwise I would have been seriously under by about $350.

Fun Budget Breakdown: $530.95

Spent almost double, and it was because of the jewellery I purchased. No regrets!

  • Eating Out: $149.28
  • Starbucks: $30
  • Jewellery: $351.67

Monthly Expenses

Favourite: $351.67

Two beautiful pieces of jewellery. Here’s a peek at the necklace <3

Unexpected: $126.42

I saw contact lens on solution and snapped it up. I have enough for the next year and a half. DONE!

Hated: $1163.45

I guess I don’t “hate” this purchase, but it is my municipal tax bill. I hate it when my home value goes up each year because I pay more taxes.

I am legit going to start smashing bottles around this area to bring down our values.. LOL

Joyful: $4.86

On a whim I picked up some raspberries as a surprise for Little Bun after daycare. It was SO WORTH IT. I love pleasing him.

Expensive: $1163.45

See above. Municipal tax bill. First of two. I have another $1163.45 to pay in a month or two.

Cheapest: $2.72

When I bought this amber coloured Ball wide mouth mason jar as my new reusable mug for massive Venti drinks at Starbucks, it was too hot to hold.

You can see below – how hot liquid in glass, can burn your hand…. if you’re holding it with no protection.

So I picked up a large silicone JarJacket cover for $2.72 and now I can drink hot drinks and not have an issue.

Stay tuned for next week’s net worth post!

Share Tweet Pin It +1

Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

Am my own Sugar Daddy. Am a millionaire at 36 after getting out of $60K of student debt in 18 months, a little over a decade earlier, using TheBudgetingTool.com. I have worked 50% of my career (taking 1-2 year breaks), and quadrupled my income within 2 years of graduating, going from $65K to $260K with an average lifetime savings rate of 50%. I have 11 side incomes that are on track in 2020 to make me $50K - $75K. I could retire today if I wanted, but love my work-life balance as a freelancing consultant in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math). I am all about balance - between time and money, and also enjoying my money. I also post daily on Instagram @saverspender.

You may also like

Previous PostFebruary 2020: Income Budget Roundup
Next PostA man is not a plan. Anything can happen.

4 Comments

  1. GYM

    Amazing job Sherry! Is the grocery spending of $1K just your portion (e.g. 50%) or is it for both of you split? I haven’t checked out grocery spending in a while and I’m scared to, haha.

    Reply
    1. Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

      Everything I post is just my money and my half..

      Reply
  2. Reverse The Crush

    Thanks for sharing your monthly expenses. I always enjoy posts like this. Your savings rate is extremely impressive! So you are covering your expenses with side hustle income from blogging and saving your pay from work?

    Reply
    1. Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

      YES! That is the goal. I want my side income to fully cover my expenses, and my income from my day job to be 100% invested/saved. I may not make it because I only made $30K or so last year as a side income, but I spend about $40K-ish…

      Reply

Leave a Reply