In Budget Roundups, Money

December 2020: Expenses Budget Roundup

 

All of the images below have been created with The Wealth Tracking & Budgeting Tool available for sale on Etsy, or at TheBudgetingTool.com where all proceeds go to charity

THE EXPENSES = $5490.37

It is obvious that I went over budget by the amount that I spent on clothing from Black Friday YOLO sales!

My Side Income covered my expenses with $2616.87 to spare

This month is ABSOLUTELY my fault 100%. I saw so many great deals on things I have wanted or had on my wishlist, andI went YOLO (You only live once) and absolutely went whole hog on jewellery, clothing, coats galore. I went for it.

Expenses In Detail:

Home includes condo fees, insurance and utilities

My home expenses have ticked up 30% due to a rise in condo fees, and even before this happened, we have been looking at buying an acre of land and building our own space, far, far away from humans. We have decided to do this because we do not really need to work any more, so commuting is not as much of an issue any longer. I can commute to an office up to an hour away (2 hours total a day), for a maximum of 2-3 days a week.

Groceries

We are restocking up on a few things so we have hit my limit (just under $800) but it’s pretty low compared to previous year spending.

Household includes household supplies that are used (e.g. soap, toilet paper) or anything like pots, pans and so on.

Nil.

Little Bun (includes daycare and schooling)

Nil. He already got everything the previous month.

Office (includes postage, paper, ink, electronics)

I finally caved and purchased a few under $100 items I need to work from home with. See below.

Medical (anything like dental, pills, surgeries..)

Nil. I actually returned something.

Wardrobe (anything shopping like accessories and clothing)

All of it will be posted in my What I bought Roundup posts. I bought a ton of things but until they arrive, I am not counting it as an item until I have it in my hands, so I will only be talking about what I received in this month.

Eating Out

I refilled my Starbucks card because I purchased (remotely) an order for my family to pick up at their respective Starbucks locations via my Starbucks app, and I spent about $50 on it, which used money on my card and made me refill it for $25.

Toiletries

Nil.

Entertainment (books, music, and upcycling projects)

I have decided to move all of my upcycling project supplies here (you can see the pieces I have created here). Yes, it ends up in my Wardrobe later on, but as it’s me working with items for fun (the way I’d buy books to read), the jewellery supplies should go here.

Gifts

I sent some gifts to friends around the world for their children, and to my friends whom I appreciate and am grateful for during this year.

TOP & BOTTOM EXPENSES

Favourite: $208.62 – Jade Leaf Ceremonial Matcha Tea

I tried a small sample, and I really like this matcha tea (it’s smooth, sweet and creamy), and I picked up 4 bags of the Jade Leaf Matcha tea.

Unexpected: $59.73 – Scoff – A history of food & class in Britain

Canadian costs for this book is ridiculous, because in the U.S. it is $30-ish dollars but almost double for me. Anyway, I thought long and hard before I purchased it because of the cost, but this book Scoff: A history of food & class in Britain is something I REALLY WANT TO READ and doesn’t exist in ebook format.

Hated: $110.10 – Customs/Duties Fees

I know they’re necessary but damn it. DAMN IT.

Expensive: $1010.94 – Max Mara Manuela Icon Coat (Secondhand)

I have had this on my list for years, a camelhair coat from Max Mara (secondhand because it’s closer to $6000 when it’s new), and it is everything I thought it would be.

It’s warm, comfortable, chic, classic… I love it so much.

Joyful: $175 – See’s Candies

 

My friend helped me purchase a bunch of See’s candies for my mother and family. I basically purchased what she wished for (butterscotch lollipops, two packs, 60 in total), and lots of chocolates, and other fun things. When it showed up, my mother was so surprised / happy, I felt thrilled I could make it happen.

Cheapest: $11.50 – Headphone converter jack

I desperately needed this before, but was too cheap to shell out $12 for a headphone converter jack for my Apple iPhone (I KNOW. I KNOW.) I am now on extremely long 3-hour conference calls, and the wireless headphones are not doing it.

They’re totally dying after half an hour because I have used them every single day for hours a day for the past 2 years, so obviously the battery has been drained to the bottom.

I DID consider buying new Apple wireless headphones which would be $400+ a set (and I need two sets), because they last a lot longer than these ones, however I figured this is a cheaper, more frugal solution versus $800.

LOOKING BACK

I wanted to stay under a certain amount for spending but.. I didn’t. And I am grateful and proud for the fact that I can overspend by $4000 and just brush it off because I have the money and the means to be able to do it.

I am also VERY happy I found my upycling hobby because it has been hours of fun in the closet with Little Bun and I.

Also, the Stuffies wish you a very happy end to 2020.

GOING FORWARD

Work will be eating up a good chunk of my time, so I think reading will fall to the wayside this year. My goal is still 100 books but I do not know if I can hit 200. We will see.

Whatever it is, my income will go up for my day job but drop for my side incomes.

NOTES

If you’re interested, I use the following:

  • Rakuten: Use my referral link for $5 in cash to get started – I use them to shop on sites ALL THE TIME.
  • Swagbucks: Use my referral link for 300 Swagbucks to get started; you need 750 to redeem for $10 CAD
  • Rogers World Elite Mastercard – No annual fee, 1.5% cash back, but you can only redeem it yearly and you have to call each year to ask them to redeem the credit against your next year’s statement. I use it for all my purchases as I buy a lot in USD$, and those purchases are 3% cash back (almost like a no forex fee in essence)
  • Tangerine Mastercard – No annual fee, 2% back on certain categories (up to 3). For their savings accounts, use my Orange key { 32726976S1 } for free money ($50 once you deposit $100; and I get $50 too). I give this card to my partner (he has a joint card) and he uses it constantly

Stay tuned for the net worth & investments post!

Share Tweet Pin It +1

Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

Am my own Sugar Daddy. Am a millionaire at 36 after getting out of $60K of student debt in 18 months, a little over a decade earlier, using TheBudgetingTool.com. I have worked 50% of my career (taking 1-2 year breaks), and quadrupled my income within 2 years of graduating, going from $65K to $260K with an average lifetime savings rate of 50%. I have 11 side incomes that are on track in 2020 to make me $50K - $75K. I could retire today if I wanted, but love my work-life balance as a freelancing consultant in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math). I am all about balance - between time and money, and also enjoying my money. I also post daily on Instagram @saverspender.

You may also like

Previous PostSherry's #OOTD Outfit of the Day Style & Fashion Look: The Mermaid Look
Next PostStyle Shopper: Review Reiss Lara Dress & Lorna Asymmetrical Knitted Top

No Comments

Leave a Reply