In Budget Roundups

April 2012 Budget Roundup = +$11,074.81 or 5.91% increase


I need to make reading a regular part of my week.

INCOME = $10,833.34

  • Gross income, not net
  • Net is $7600 after estimating for taxes, social security and medicare which I’ve included as expenses

EXPENSES = $8231.60

  • My work expenses are $0 because I get reimbursed
  • I started recording my gross income and then calculating the taxes to obtain the net, seeing as it’s a new thing for me here in the U.S. that taxes are taken out beforehand




* For Wardrobe: I bought theΒ m0851 Perfecto leather jacket!…and crossed it off my Wardrobe Wants list

I use my budgeting tool to create those spreadsheets

NET WORTH FOR APRIL 2012 = $198,560.63 +$11,074.81 or 5.91%





Next month I should be able to lower my expenses by about another $1000 or so.

This means no more Gifts, Wardrobe or Non-Refundable Flights I made mistakes with. I’m going to continue with what I’ve been doing and see where else I can cut.


Starting in May, I will also be saving $4000 each month into my 401K ($2000 pre-tax per paycheck).

I should have maxed out my 401K by the end of August, and I’ll have another $4000 a month to put away outside of my 401K into investing.


Lately, I’ve been working so much, I haven’t been particularly keen on going shopping or spending, which is always a good thing but it means I’m exhausted almost every night.

I’ve started taking naps on the weekend because my body has been trying to force me to sleep more!

I am hoping this situation will change near the end of May and I can start loosening up — I’ve been running at more than full speed doing 2 jobs since I started this project and I need to take a breather.

Share Tweet Pin It +1

Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

Am my own Sugar Daddy. Am a millionaire at 36 after getting out of $60K of student debt in 18 months, a little over a decade earlier, using I have worked 50% of my career (taking 1-2 year breaks), and quadrupled my income within 2 years of graduating, going from $65K to $260K with an average lifetime savings rate of 50%. I have 11 side incomes that are on track in 2020 to make me $50K - $75K. I could retire today if I wanted, but love my work-life balance as a freelancing consultant in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math). I am all about balance - between time and money, and also enjoying my money. I also post daily on Instagram @saverspender.

You may also like

More Money Tips For the Rest of Us

Posted on August 23, 2017

Previous PostDay and Night Skincare Regimen (For the Face)
Next PostCurrent songs playlist


  1. Laura @ No More Spending

    I always find it a battle between books or blogs – I can’t seem to balance the both.

    1. Mochi & Macarons

      That I what I am experiencing. I need to cut down the blogs.

  2. Leigh

    Oh and if you earn more than $110,000 gross this year, you don’t pay any further Social Security Tax, so that liability will go down. I’m really looking forward to that point! Last year, it hit in December for me, but it looks like it’ll hit in October/November this year πŸ™‚

    1. Mochi & Macarons

      No kidding!!! Thanks πŸ™‚

  3. Leigh

    Woot, your income is pretty sweet! I don’t count income taxes, medicare, or social security taxes as expenses since I don’t even see the money. I don’t count my 401(k) contributions as expenses either since that is part of my net worth.

    I spent some time reading on Saturday this weekend and it was wonderful! Phone shut off, computer somewhere else, no TV watching. No talking to anyone, just reading πŸ˜€ I need to do that more often.

    1. Mochi & Macarons

      My income is definitely very nice, I am not complaining. I put those as expenses just for clarity πŸ™‚
      I do the net worth thing too, but I’ve found it useful to record what is RRSP or 401K so I don’t over contribute and/Or forget…

  4. Chantalle van Doorn

    I also need to start reading again – even my blog reading has fallen to the wayside! I feel like I have no time with my new job and all, i’m just so exhausted when I get home. I guess it is good for not spending any money seeing I have no time to even think about shopping.Β 

    1. Mochi & Macarons

      Reading is an issue for me when I get back from work and I am SO tired….


Leave a Reply

In a nutshell…

Save. Spend. Splurge.
[ wealth. style. minimalism. ]


MOST DEBT: cleared $60K in 18 months

MONEY: Hit $1M personal net worth At 36

NEW GOAL: $1M in invested assets


HATES: being late & lazy people

SOCIAL: Instagram @saverspender

DRINKS: homemade matcha lattes

SLEEPS: on a 100% cotton U.S.-made futon

WRITES: Books (also available on Amazon).

BEAUTY: swears by Paula’s Choice


…but you can read more about me , browse my index of posts, or get in touch with me, talk to me directly on Instagram, and of course, ask me anything here.

$35 The Wealth Building Tool

Like a Boss Library (Sherry’s Books)

Referral Codes

Free Money Surveys
[ Use this link ]

[ saverspender ]

Shopping Cashback
[ Use this link ]

Clothing Resale


Private Lending
[ 7b03f0 ]

No-Fee Banking
[ 32726976S1 ]

Discount Brokerage
[ o0soehds ]

Social media scheduler
[ saverspender ]

Blog Ad Network
[ Use this link ]


Save. Spend. Splurge. uses affiliate links from Shopstyle, and Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to or ShopStyle. In addition to these, any referrals on the page will result in revenue if used such as BlueHost.

In English: If you click on a link, I could get a small commission, typically a few cents. And if you use a referral code, I could get anywhere from $10 – $70 for it. Thank you for your kind support!

Also, I am not a professional investment advisor or money manager by any means.

I am just a woman who loves money, talking about money, and making money.

All opinions expressed on this blog are personal and for entertainment value. Take them with a grain of salt and always consult a professional when in doubt.