In Style, What I bought

2016 Year in Review: What I read

Previous Years:

2016 WHAT I BOUGHT, WATCHED AND READ POSTS

 I READ 262 BOOKS IN 2016

Finally. I made up for 2015 when I only read a pathetic 28 in the entire year. A lot of what I read were part of a series, namely detective / crime fiction.

You can see that in some months, I just didn’t read at all.

I probably had a lot to do or shopped a heck of a lot. 😉 Most likely the latter.

All of the longer book reviews are in the months I bought them, link is provided to the right.

FAVOURITE NON-FICTION BOOKS

OF 2016

FAVOURITE SHOPPING / FASHION BOOKS

OF 2016

http://astore.amazon.com/fabubrokinthe-20?_encoding=UTF8&node=10

FAVOURITE FOOD BOOKS

OF 2016

http://astore.amazon.com/fabubrokinthe-20?_encoding=UTF8&node=10

FAVOURITE PARENTING / LIFE BOOKS

OF 2016

http://astore.amazon.com/fabubrokinthe-20?_encoding=UTF8&node=10

  • Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus (July 2016) – The best relationship & even interpersonal business relations book I have read in a while.
  • Raising Boys (July 2016) – So that I don’t screw up Baby Bun. It is a good read though, backed up by a lot of research. It has helped me a lot.
  • Manhood (August 2016) – Terry Crews is a good actor but what I liked best was his raw honesty in how he was taught and raised.
  • The Whole Brain Child (May 2016) – I hate parenting books and I liked this one because it has helped me see that I need to be less yell-y as frustrating as it may be. I am trying my best, I really am.

FAVOURITE CHICK-LIT BOOKS

OF 2016

http://astore.amazon.com/fabubrokinthe-20?_encoding=UTF8&node=10


FAVOURITE BUSINESS / MONEY BOOKS

OF 2016

http://astore.amazon.com/fabubrokinthe-20?_encoding=UTF8&node=10

  • Bringing Home the Birkin (November 2016) – It is a book about Hermès Birkins and the craze to buy one (they’re everywhere now); and a good inspirational read.
  • Bargain Fever (June 2016) – The history of shopping and how to get the most out of your retail experience.
  • The Soul of Money (April 2016) – This is what I strive to aim for with my money and the way I live. A very eye-opening book on money.
  • Always Fresh (April 2016) – Timmie’s Addict? Read this book. It goes into how he started the business & built it into what it is today, an iconic franchise.

FAVOURITE FICTION BOOKS

OF 2016

http://astore.amazon.com/fabubrokinthe-20?_encoding=UTF8&node=10

This is where I read the most:

  1. Agatha Christie: 73 books
  2. Phryne Fisher: 20 books
  3. Harry Bosch: 19 books
  • Phryne Fisher Series (June 2016) – I LOVE Phryne. I love the TV series too. A great mystery series, well written, set in the 40s, and so rich in colour, style and imagination.
  • IQ84 (April 2016) – I can’t decide if this is a book I’d recommend or not, but it is really strange and engrossing so I thought I’d add it. It makes you think in very strange ways and it is truly Japanese in its narrative; if any of you read manga like I do, I saw a lot of parallels.
  • A Study in Sherlock (March 2016) – Short fanfiction stories re-inventing the look at Sherlock Holmes & Watson. Some were excellent, other stories were so-so.
  • The Girl in the Spider’s Web (January 2016) – This follows along with the series started by Larsson, and is best described as ass-kicking fiction.
  • Harry Bosch Series (January 2016) – An excellent set of crime / detective fiction. Well-written, set in modern day & engrossing.
  • Agatha Christie – All Books (December 2016) – She is an amazing, AMAZING crime fiction writer. Fantastic. I was surprised 99% of the time, my favourites being the ones involving Poirot, Marple and Quinn.

P.S. If you liked this, you may also like my complete list of book recommendations sorted by category. I also came out with my own book this year, Start a Blog Like a Boss – How to Make Money ($1000 USD a month, but just in December alone, I doubled that income to $2000 USD).

Share Tweet Pin It +1

Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

Am my own Sugar Daddy. Am a millionaire at 36 after getting out of $60K of student debt in 18 months, a little over a decade earlier, using TheBudgetingTool.com. I have worked 50% of my career (taking 1-2 year breaks), and quadrupled my income within 2 years of graduating, going from $65K to $260K with an average lifetime savings rate of 50%. I have 11 side incomes that are on track in 2020 to make me $50K - $75K. I could retire today if I wanted, but love my work-life balance as a freelancing consultant in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math). I am all about balance - between time and money, and also enjoying my money. I also post daily on Instagram @saverspender.

You may also like

http://www.graceciao.com

August 2013: What I bought, watched and read

Posted on September 12, 2013

Previous PostDecember 2016 Budget Roundup = $506,853.35 or an increase of +0.65% or +$3282.63
Next PostYear of 2016: What I bought - The Missing Edition

2 Comments

  1. Lori S

    Thank you for making this list for us! I am always looking for new books to read and I enjoy your perspective on things so our taste in books may be similar as well.

    Reply
    1. Sherry of Save. Spend. Splurge.

      Oh I don’t doubt it. My other yearly roundups have book recommendations too.

      Do let me know which ones you enjoyed. I’m always curious if people like the same things I do 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

In a nutshell…

Save. Spend. Splurge.
[ wealth. style. minimalism. ]

——

MOST DEBT: cleared $60K in 18 months

MONEY: Hit $1M personal net worth At 36

NEW GOAL: $1M in invested assets

FAVOURITE DAY: payday

HATES: being late & lazy people

SOCIAL: Instagram @saverspender

DRINKS: homemade matcha lattes

SLEEPS: on a 100% cotton U.S.-made futon

WRITES: Books (also available on Amazon).

BEAUTY: swears by Paula’s Choice

——

…but you can read more about me , browse my index of posts, or get in touch with me, talk to me directly on Instagram, and of course, ask me anything here.

$35 The Wealth Building Tool

Like a Boss Library (Sherry’s Books)

Referral Codes

Free Money Surveys
[ Use this link ]



Webhosting
[ saverspender ]



Shopping Cashback
[ Use this link ]



Clothing Resale


[ SHERRYISH ]



Private Lending
[ 7b03f0 ]



No-Fee Banking
[ 32726976S1 ]



Discount Brokerage
[ o0soehds ]



Social media scheduler
[ saverspender ]



Blog Ad Network
[ Use this link ]



Disclosure

Save. Spend. Splurge. uses affiliate links from Shopstyle, and Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com or ShopStyle. In addition to these, any referrals on the page will result in revenue if used such as BlueHost.

In English: If you click on a link, I could get a small commission, typically a few cents. And if you use a referral code, I could get anywhere from $10 – $70 for it. Thank you for your kind support!

Also, I am not a professional investment advisor or money manager by any means.

I am just a woman who loves money, talking about money, and making money.

All opinions expressed on this blog are personal and for entertainment value. Take them with a grain of salt and always consult a professional when in doubt.